Director Elections

Clearwater Power Company is governed by a member-elected Board of Directors. For the complete details about the election process, please review The Cooperative Bylaws [Article III, Sections 3(a), (b), (c) ]. This quick reference guide should help familiarize co-op members with how the process works:

  • There are seven (7) democratically-elected board members, each one lives on Clearwater Power’s electric lines and is an active customer.
  • One person represents each of Clearwater Power’s seven (7) geographic districts. A member shall be eligible to become or remain a Director if they have been a member for a minimum period of one (1) year and maintain an account in the District for which they are to be elected and their principal residence, as defined by Federal Tax Law, is located in that District and served by the Cooperative. View our Service Territory Map (PDF).
  • Each Director is elected for a three-year term.
  • The nomination process usually takes place in July and August each year.
  • There are two methods to be nominated to run for a Board of Director position:
    • Contact someone on the nominating committee and request an application packet: Nominating Committee [Article III, Section 3(b) of the Bylaws] or
    • Request an application packet and complete the nomination by petition process [Cooperative Bylaws] [Article III, Section 3(b) of the Bylaws]
  • The 2023 election will be held at the annual meeting of the membership on Wednesday, Oct. 25. The election is voted on by members present and is presided over by the cooperative’s legal counsel.